Welcome!

Hello Bloggers, Seamstresses and Vintage Fashion aficionados-my name is Cassidy and I am a first year fashion student working towards several degrees in historical costuming and fashion history.  I hope to end up with master’s degrees and doctorates-my focus being on the styles of the Renaissance, the Civil War, the Late Victorian Era as well as the Baroque & Rococo Era.

This blog will be a portfolio of sorts for my 16th-20th Century designs and creations. I have ideas for tons and tons of projects that I hope to make in the next few years. I love all aspects of old-fashioned clothing-from chemises to coats, shoes to stays, farthingales to fans and bustles to bonnets. Watching an ensemble come to life is such a joy-from the culmination of thoughts in my mind, to the research and study I do, to the design and drafting process, all the way to sewing the final seams and adding the finishing touches.

I try to make everything as period accurate as possible and I openly shun the use of synthetics. I’m not rich by any means but I feel better saving towards material than churning out projects. I dream of cotton, linen, silk, and wool…polyester, rayon, nylon, and acrylic are my nightmares. Also, I am a stickler for period correct underpinnings and I am currently building my array of chemises, petticoats, stockings, stays & corsets, as well as hoopskirts and various accessories.

While a majority of posts will be about my outfits and their creation, I will have posts about my sewing space and my purchases of fabrics and trims. Hopefully enjoy my blog and look forward to my next post!

Leave a Reply

